Shalomé in Australië

Letter to...

Dear Lauren & Scott,

This blogpost is especially for you (well okay, the rest of the world can read it as well, hope you don't mind

Wink
).

The last 5 months I spent with you and your beautiful girls. Although this wasn't the original plan, it was wonderful!
My first month in Australia was very rough, and I've almost been at the point of going home. Already after 2 weeks, I decided to look for a new family to stay with (credits to my family and friends in Holland, who supported this), and I ended up with you. By that time, it was just Lauren and the girls.
When I read Laurens 'Dear future au pair letter' I became so excited! I've always been attracted to little kids, especially girls. I hoped you were interested in me as well, and already after 30 minutes I received an email back. I didn't want to be too excited, though, because the dissapointment would be too big if you didn't want meto beyour au pair. Luckily, after a couple of days chatting, the agency sent me the following message: 'Great news Shalomé, Lauren would like you to be her au pair :) We'll send out our invitation shortly.' Omg, you just can't imagine how happy I was

Laughing
!!

So, after a month on the Sunshine Coast, my trip to Sydney started! My first week here, I stayed with my wonderful (kind of) family, and I already met you once. I confessed that I was still feeling a bit homesick, and I was thinking about going home earlier. Oh no, that was not an option for you

Sealed
. Luckily for you (and for me) I took your advice, and see where we are now: I sticked it out the full 6 months!

When I was here for one month, Scott moved in again, so I went from just a hostdad (Sunshine Coast), to just a hostmom, to a hostfamily (sorry not sorry, that's how au pairs call the family they stay with

Tongue Out
). After that it remained stable, happy me
Smile
.

Ok, so far the timeline of things you already know and don't care about that much

Wink
.

The actual reason I'm writing this for you, is to thank you for everything! I really want to thank you for giving me this chance, for involving me in Ava and Nyahs lives, just for giving me this unforgettable experience

Smile
!
I think I will discover what I've exactly learned from this when I'm at home, and look back at everything. There's one thing that I know for sure: I don't regret anything. I'm happy and thankful for every experience, and I think I've grown so much stronger than I was before!!
I hope we will keep in contact by chatting and Facetiming/Skyping!

I'm gonna miss you guys andmy life here so much

Cry
, but I'm also very happy to go home.

Thank you so much for everything! I really want to go back to Australia in a couple of years, I'll let you know (and take my boyfriend with me)!!

Love,

Shally

Kiss

Reacties

Reacties

Marieke

Jij mag zo ongelofelijk trots zijn op jezelf dat je deze stap hebt gezet en alle hobbels op je weg hebt aangepakt! Ik vind je echt een stoere chick!

Jan

Ik heb al je berichten gelezen. Wat mij betreft moet je er eens over na gaan denken om schrijfster te worden, de verhalen spreken ontzettend aan. And for your host family: you should read the stories Shalome wrote. I think you would agree: she should become a writer.

Irma

He meis,
Wat mooi geschreven en wat heb je het knap gedaan.
Zal idd best even heel dubbel voelen, blij dat je naar huis gaat maar ook lastig om dit alles waar je zo aan gehecht bent achter te laten.
Maar zoals ik al eerder zei ik weet zeker dat ze jou terug gaan zien.
Ik heb zoveel respect voor je dat je deze stap gedurfd hebt ik zou het nooooooit durven nu niet en op jou leeftijd zeker niet.
Je bent een sterke persoonlijkheid en deze maanden hebben jou alleen maar nog sterker gemaakt denk ik.
Trots op je meis en ook een beetje gezond jaloers dat jij dit gedaan hebt. Zo'n mooie ervaring voor de rest van je leven.
Liefs van mij en tot volgende week xxx

Roelande

Wow wat een mooi verhaal en wat is je Engels super geworden!

Wybren

Ha Shally! ????????mooi verhaal blij je weer te zien heel gauw! Liefs oom Wyb

Wybren

????

Wybren

Die emoticons werken hier niet... Vandaar die vraagtekens...

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active